Exploring our ‘hood (updated)

Now that we are all moved and settled in, I thought I should have a little explore of our district. I shall start with breakfast – a sunny cup of tea on the balcony.

First breakfast on the balcony

First breakfast on the balcony

Proceeding outside, here you can see our little house (we are on the top floor).

We are on the top floor, with the little balcony.

We are on the top floor, with the little balcony.

I took a route I had not previously tried, which I had been told was a shortcut. I arrived at a flat piece of ground with some kids playing cricket, and this view.mountainfrom summpark

Strolling past here and down into Sanepa, I found the very same view from a different perspective.

Mountains and cables

Mountains and cables

Down in Sanepa, I found myself some lunch at Bara Newari kitchen, where I had the dish shown below. It was alright, but had a bit of a funky taste and the flattened rice stuff was rather…cloying.

A Newari dinner set.

A Newari dinner set.

Arriving onto Pulchowk road, about 10 minutes from our place (as the crow flies – it took me about an hour and a half), I encountered this fellow. I am not sure that he was directly associated with the cow behind him, but I would like to think that he is its very dapper bodyguard.

suitcow

Arriving at a petrol station, I spied this valuable advice.

whiskyrisky

There are a number of small shrines in our area, a lot of which have a picture of this chap on them.

I am not sure who this chap is, and I will find out soon, but I feel he could have been painted more flatteringly.

I am not sure who this chap is, and I will find out soon, but I feel he could have been painted more flatteringly.

Maybe 20 minutes from our house is Patan Durbar Square, a beautiful collection of temples in the centre of the city. I stopped for a drink and took in the view.

Patan skyline

Patan skyline

On my way home I popped in to one of the many fruit and veg shops near us, and got something for dinner. I am not very good at this vegetarian lark yet, so I think I may have gone a little overboard.

Maybe a little much for a dinner for two?

Maybe a little much for a dinner for two?

Therefore we had our first guests – the candles are not for atmosphere, they are due to the 14 hour power cuts.

Cosy and romantic or cold and dark? I think the latter.

Cosy and romantic or cold and dark? I think the latter.

2 thoughts on “Exploring our ‘hood (updated)

  1. Matt, the guy with the aftro is Guru Sai Baba – my sis in law has lots of pics of him in her house :-)! Ive just had my haircut and now look like an orange version of him 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

